Top Ten Favourite Podcasts

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a feature/weekly meme created and hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic was All About Audio freebie. I don’t listen to a lot of books on audio, but I do listen to podcasts. Here are some:

1 & 2. Two podcasts from Book Riot: All the Books, about new book releases, and Get Booked, a show for custom book recommendations. If you want to absolutely lose control of your TBR list and be glad about it, listen to either of these two shows. Better yet, listen to both.

3 & 4. Another show about books that might affect your TBR is New York Public Library’s The Librarian Is In. The NYPL also has a podcast that features conversations with writers.

5. 2 Dope Queens is a great stand up comedy podcast hosted by Jessica Williams and Phoebe Robinson. Season 2 is starting today! Not a show about books, but an awesome show nonetheless. Phoebe Robinson has a book coming out, too, on October 4th, You Can’t Touch My Hair: And Other Things I Still Have to Explain, with an introduction by Jessica Williams.

6. The podcast that got me listening to podcasts: Welcome to Night Vale, community updates from a place where, among other things, librarians are dangerous. From episode 27:

“Remember: if confronted by a librarian while looking for a book to check out, do not attempt to escape by climbing a tree. There are no trees in the library, and the precious moments it will take you to look around and realize this will allow the librarian to strike.”

There’s also a book, Welcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor.

7. Stuff You Missed in History Class has hundreds of episodes, and I plan on listening to every one.

8. I’ve only recently started listening to Lore, a podcast about real life scary stories. Perfect for autumn. Not caught up yet, but enjoying it so far.

9. Myths and Legends is another podcast I enjoy but have yet to listen to all the episodes. It has a pretty descriptive title. It’s about, well, myths and legends (re)told in a casual conversational style.

10. The Moby Dick Big Read. Herman Melville’s entire novel read by various people, including Tilda Swinton, Stephen Fry, and China Miéville.

Do you listen to audiobooks or podcasts? What are your favourites?

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Favourite Podcasts

  1. Yaaas thanks so much for this! I’m sort of new to podcasts and often run out of episodes to binge, and you’ve given me tons of titles to check out. I’ll definitely check out the bookish ones especially – I’ve seen Lore a couple of times before but I’m VERY easily spooked out and can’t really handle anything remotely scary. 😂

    Here’s my TTT – it’s also on podcasts. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you found it useful! If you end up enjoying the bookish ones, Book Riot also has two other podcasts: a general talk/news show about books and a bookish agony aunt. I haven’t listened to either, but, judging by the other two, they should be great.

      Lore, yeah, is very popular, but I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone who doesn’t enjoy scary stories. Some episodes are scarier than others. Sometimes it veers all the way into historical true crime and that’s when I think it’s the scariest.

      Like

      1. A bookish agony aunt sounds like my kind of thing! Thanks for letting me know. 🙂

        Yeah, I know. I’m actually OK with true crime and crime but anything remotely paranormal-sounding really spooks me out. :/

        Like

    1. Haha, your kid knows something’s up! I love Night Vale, and I hope you continue to enjoy it. I don’t know if you’re concerned about stuff like this, but it can get quite creepy at times—humorously creepy, but still creepy.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I listen to both audio books and podcasts, which is why I’m excited to give your suggestions a try. I’ll probably start with Night Vale because I love a comedy podcast but I wish I was brave enough to listen to the scary stories from Lore. Living in an old house, I have a mini heart attack whenever I hear a weird sound at night 😀
    (My top 10 List)

    Like

Leave a Reply

